International History

The International Association of Lions Clubs was founded in Chicago, Illinois, USA in 1917.
While the youngest of the major organizations of service clubs, Lions Clubs International has become the largest in the world.
Its 1.3 million members are among the clubs in over 205 countries and geographic areas.
The headquarters of Lions Clubs International are located in Oak Brook, Illinois, USA.

For the Lions, "We Serve" is not only a slogan, but a purpose and a guiding principle.

Lions Clubs International
Headquarters of the International Association of Lions Clubs
300 22nd Street, Oak Brook, IL60523-8842 USA
Tel. : (630) 571-5466 - Fax: (630) 571-8890
offices are open to visitors from 8 am to 16.30 pm
website:
www.lionsclubs.org

The first convention in Dallas in 1917
During the Convention in Dallas in 1917, a name was not immediately found and it took lengthy discussions to find a new name to the Association. It was in 1919 that the option of Melvin Jones won and the "Association of Lions Clubs" became the new name. This was also the name of his business circle in Chicago, which was inspired by the great stone lion located in front of the Chicago Institute of Arts. The Club also took photographs in front of the lion.
The lion was in the business circle a symbol of brotherhood, friendship and strength.
The intervention of a brilliant young lawyer from Denver, Halsted Ritter, was decisive
He proposed that the name LIONS was not only the king of animals and exceptional qualities of brotherhood, friendship and strength, but argued that the letters were very precisely the message of American citizenship: "Liberty, Intelligence, Our Nation's Safety ".
Our emblem (the pin) with a lion who looks alternately back and forward, was taken from the the French artist Rose Bonheur in 1920.
The motto "We Serve" will come much later.

History of Lions Club International

The International Association of Lions Clubs was founded on the idea of a businessman from Chicago, Melvin Jones.

He was convinced that local business clubs should go beyond mere professional considerations to commit to improving their community and the world in general.
He received the approval of his group, the Business Circle of Chicago. After he contacted counterparts in all groups the United States, a business meeting was held on 7 June 1917 in Chicago, Illinois, USA. This new group took the name of one of the groups invited, the "Association of Lions Clubs, and a national convention was held in Dallas, Texas, USA in October of that year. A constitution, statutes, objectives and a code of ethics were approved.
Melvin Jones Memorial (English).

One of the goals adopted at the time stated: "No club can have as its purpose the financial enrichment of its members." This requirement of selflessness remains a fundamental principle of the association.

Three years after its inception, the association became international, with the institution of the first club in Canada in 1920. This considerable expansion continued in the 50s and 60s with the establishment of new clubs, mainly in Europe, Asia and Africa.

In 1925, Helen Keller addressed the Lions at the International Convention of the Association in Cedar Point, Ohio, USA. She challenged Lions to become "knights of the blind in the crusade against darkness." Therefore, Lions clubs have been actively involved in service to blind and visually impaired. Helen Keller Life-story (English)

Broadening its international role, Lions Clubs International helped the United Nations to establish the Non-Governmental Organizations in 1945 and maintains a consultative status with the United Nations.

In 1990, the Lions began their work in the most aggressive program to safeguard sight, SightFirst. This program, whose budget totals $ 143.5 million, aims to rid the world of preventable and reversible blindness.

In addition to sight programs, Lions Clubs International is committed to providing services for youth. Lions clubs also work to defend the environment, building homes for the disabled, support information campaigns on diabetes, implementation of programs to assist hearing and, through their foundation, the international relief in times of disaster.

Lions Club International now includes 1.3 million men and women in 45 000 clubs in 205 countries and geographical areas.

Historique International

The International Association of Lions Clubs a été fondée à Chicago, Illinois, Etats-Unis en 1917. Tout en étant la plus jeune des organisations majeures de clubs-service, le Lions Clubs International est devenue la plus grande dans le monde entier. Ses 1,3 million de membres font partie des clubs dans plus de 206 pays et aires géographiques.
Le siège social du Lions Clubs International se trouve à Oak Brook, lllinois, Etats-Unis.

Pour les Lions, "Nous Servons" est non seulement une devise, mais une raison d'être et un principe directeur.

Lions Clubs International
Siège de l'Association Internationale des Lions Clubs
300 22nd Street, Oak Brook, IL60523-8842 USA
Tel. : (630) 571-5466 - Fax : (630) 571-8890
Les bureaux sont ouverts aux visiteurs de 8h à 16.30h
Info : www.lionsclubs.org

La première Convention à Dallas en 1917
Pendant la Convention de Dallas en 1917, on ne trouva pas immédiatement un nom et il a fallu des discussions fastidieuses pour trouver un nom à la nouvelle Association. Ce ne sera qu'en 1919 que l'option de Melvin Jones l'emporta et "Association of Lions Clubs‚" devint la nouvelle dénomination. Ceci était d'ailleurs le nom de son business circle à Chicago, qui s'inspira du grand lion en pierre qui se trouvait à Chicago devant le Institute of Arts. Le Club se fit d'ailleurs photografier devant ce lion.
Le lion était pour le business circle le symbole de la fraternité, l'amitié et la force.

L'intervention brillante d'un jeune avocat de Denver, Halsted Ritter, fut déterminante :
Il proposa que le nom LIONS n'évoque pas seulement le roi des animaux et les qualités exceptionnelles de fraternité, amitié et force, mais argumenta que ces lettres représentaient très précisément le message de la citoyenneté américaine: "Liberty, Intelligence, Our Nations Safety".

Mais le lion était bien le premier. Notre emblème actuel (notre épingle) avec un lion qui regarde alternativement vers le passé et vers l'avenir, a été emprunté au tableau de l'artiste française Rose Bonheur en 1920.
La devise "We Serve" viendra beaucoup plus tard.

Histoire du Lions Club International


L'Association Internationale des Lions Clubs est née de l'idée d'un homme d'affaires de Chicago, Melvin Jones. Celui-ci était persuadé que les clubs d'entreprises locaux devaient dépasser les simples considérations professionnelles pour s'engager envers l'amélioration de leur communauté et du monde en général.

Il reçut l'approbation de son groupe, le Business Circle of Chicago. Après qu'il eut contacté des groupes homologues dans tous les Etats-Unis, une réunion d'entreprise fut organisée le 7 juin 1917 à Chicago, Illinois, Etats-Unis. Ce nouveau groupe prit le nom de l'un des groupes invités, l'Association des Lions Clubs, et une convention nationale se tint à Dallas, Texas, Etats-Unis en octobre de la même année. Une constitution, des statuts, des objectifs et un code éthique furent approuvés. Melvin Jones Memorial (anglais).

Un des objectifs adoptés à l'époque stipulait : " Aucun club ne peut avoir pour objet l'enrichissement financier de ses membres . Cette exigence de désintéressement reste l'un des principes fondamentaux de l'association.

Trois ans à peine après sa création, l'association s'internationalisa, avec l'institution du premier club au Canada en 1920. Cette expansion internationale considérable continua dans les années 50 et 60 avec l'établissement de nouveaux clubs, principalement en Europe, en Asie et en Afrique.

En 1925, Helen Keller s'adressa aux Lions lors de la convention internationale de l'association à Cedar Point, Ohio, Etats-Unis. Elle défia les Lions de devenir les " chevaliers des aveugles dans la croisade contre l'obscurité ". Dès lors, les Lions clubs se sont engagés activement dans le service aux aveugles et aux malvoyants. Helen Keller-Life story (anglais).

Elargissant son rôle international, le Lions Clubs International aida les Nations Unies à instaurer les Organisations Non-Gouvernementales en 1945 et il conserve un statut consultatif auprès de l'ONU.

En 1990, les Lions mirent en oeuvre leur programme le plus agressif de sauvegarde de la vue, SightFirst. Ce programme, dont le budget s'élève à 143,5 millions de dollars, vise à délivrer le monde de la cécité évitable et réversible.

Outre les programmes pour la vue, le Lions Clubs International s'engage à fournir des services pour la jeunesse. Les Lions clubs ìuvrent également pour la défense de l'environnement, la construction de maisons d'accueil pour handicapés, le soutien de campagnes d'information sur le diabète, l'application de programmes d'aide aux problèmes auditifs et, à travers leur fondation, le secours international en cas de catastrophe.

Le Lions Clubs International comprend désormais 1,3 million d'hommes et de femmes, dans 45 000 clubs répartis dans 206 pays et zones géographiques.